GM70 into A2

All the parts have to be put together at some point. Have fun!
PET-240

GM70 into A2

Post by PET-240 »

Gudday All,

Quite new here, have been emailing Dave and Steve regarding chokes ond more recently assistance looking into building a driver section capable of driving a GM70 into A2.
Steve's email suggested to start with what I require and what im capable of, so we can all find out what the point is.
My background is machine electrical control systems, I am currently involved with the repair and maintenance of RF welders which run from 4kW- 20kW, generally around the 8kV B+ mark. I have not and could not design one of these. I can work with relays and plc's, I have not the skills to do electronic circuit design. I have a gift of fixing machines, most of which I have no prior knowledge of prior to standing in front of them, some of which have no documentation. I also seem to remember useless bits of information that get correlated in my head and actually come together and be useful. I also have a good mechanical mind, can draw pictures in my head, am really handsome, very modest and and little need to be proven wrong. Be nice if life was a fairy tale.....
What I would like, I am in the process of building a preamp not of my design, I am going to ask the designer man what I can share here and ask him to come look and join in. He has advised that it won't be capable of driving a GM70 into A2. Lampizator has a design for the two halves of a 6N6P to drive a 70, I would like to avoid using an IT(bet you it ends up with one) because I've never heard one, not cause they bad, hence the preamp. I have both 6N6P's and 6H30's coming to play with, I don't know if they are capable of driving a 70 into A2, I don't know how to correctly pick operating points and so on, I am doing reading as much as possible, but I learn better doing. I will ask stupid(to you knowledgable folk) questions, but I feel the dumbest question is the one you don't ask.