Moving Coil Cartridge Step up Transformers.

the road not taken.
ssegrub

Moving Coil Cartridge Step up Transformers.

Post by ssegrub »

Hi folks' I am a newbie and have not been on a forum before so therefore I will need to learn the protocols...so please bear with me.
My interest and questions are about getting more gain from my Koetsu Rosewood Platinum Signature Moving coil cartridge (.2mV output)into the phono stage of my Convergent Audio Technology (CAT) SL-1 Tube preamp.I have been advised that I will only need a 10dB gain Step Up Transformer. As these are none standard,I have been enquiring about having a set custom made. Am I on the right track,or is 10dB to low?
dave slagle

Post by dave slagle »

Welcome!

10dB seems very low to me. Are you using your koetsu directly into the mm inputs now? Can you turn it up to full volume?

dave
ssegrub

Post by ssegrub »

Thanks Dave, I am running the preamp at 12oclock which is half volume.
on the CAT volume control.Any higher and tube noise can be heard along with the music.I have a set of NOS Telefunken 6dj8 and NOS Mullard 12ax7 in the Phono stage and these are very quiet and dynamic tubes.
The CAT has a combined mm and mc input into the phono stage and is ment for all cartridges to be used into the one set of inputs .
dave slagle

Post by dave slagle »

I am beginning to understand things now. Your problem isn't gain, it is noise free gain. If you ignore the tube noise can you turn it up all the way or does it get too loud?

You are currently in a bit of a paradox since the more stepup you use, the less noise you get, but at the cost of excessive gain and attenuation. It seems that 12dB (1:4) would be the safest number to shoot for.

dave
ssegrub

Post by ssegrub »

It gets louder but becomes blurry and lacks defenition as the volume increases beyond 12oclock . I would like to get more dynamic range and musical colours. I have had Koetsus in the past with higher output